How to Reset the Linksys WRT160N Wireless-N Router

How to Reset the Linksys WRT160N Wireless-N Router

Learning to reset the Linksys WRT160N wireless-N router is important if you currently change the settings within the administrative pages. The reason it is important is because one wrong setting change could make it difficult to access the Internet or the administrative pages of of the router.

Unlimited data backup with BackBlaze

If you need to start over with your router, one solution is to reset your router back to its factory defaults. This means that you return all the settings on the router back to what they were when you first purchased and setup the router. This post will explain the two methods you can use to reset the Linksys WRT160N wireless-n router.

Using the Reset Button

Note:

Resetting the router to the factory defaults will delete any changes you have made to the router, including any security settings. This should be used as a last resort.

The first method involves using the reset button that is located at the back of the router. It isn’t hard to reset the router this way, but does require physically being in the same location as the router.

To reset the router using the reset button, use these steps:

  1. Look for the red reset button at the back of the router.
  2. Press and hold the reset button for approximately 5 seconds.

Reset the Router Through the Administrative Pages

Note:

If you don’t know the user ID and password to access your router’s administrative pages, then you will need to use the first method to reset your WRT160N router.

The second method involves logging into the administrative pages of your router. This can be done from anywhere that you can connect to your router. While not complex, there are a few more steps than using the reset button.

  1. Log in to the router’s administrative pages.
  2. Click the “Administration” menu option.
  3. Next, click “Factory Defaults” from the sub-menu.
  4. Click the “Restore All Settings” button on the screen.

Regardless of which method you use to reset your router, it is important to secure your router after it has been reset.

Get free email updates! Sign up for new post notifications.

24 Responses to “How to Reset the Linksys WRT160N Wireless-N Router”

  1. Maputo says:

    I tryed every thing + the 30 30 30 reset but the router keeps blinking, what do i do now? please help.

  2. Dallas says:

    Can I REBOOT the router while in it, remote interface web interface style?
    I see the question asked a few times with the responses being “push the reset button”,which doesn’t answer the question.
    I find that entertaining but-can I REBOOT It through the web?

    • Paul Salmon says:

      Hi Dallas,

      It depends on what you mean by reboot. If you push the reset button you will reset the router back to factory default settings – erasing any changes that you have made to the router. This can also be accomplished in the router’s web interface by selecting “Administration” from the top menu and then clicking “Factory Defaults” and then clicking the “Restore All Settings” button.

      If you just want to reboot the router without erasing your changes I am not sure outside of pulling the power cord.

    • Dallas says:

      I’m so dumb, I knew I’ve seen it before:
      Administration / diagnostics there’s the reboot “button”.

  3. Wallace says:

    How do you REBOOT (not reset) it remotely. SAVE CHANGES doesn’t reboot it.

  4. JIm says:

    Simply press and hold the reset button the router for 30 seconds. Release the reset button and wait for 30 seconds. Power cycle the router and wait for router to turn back on.
    I was working as a technical support executive for more than 5 years and this is how I used to reset Linksys router to factory default settings.

    If the power light on the router is blinking and if it keeps on blinking then your router may be not working anymore.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *